23 March 2017
Hotel Devín, Bratislava, Slovakia
08.30 Registration/Coffee
09.00 Welcome by

Pierre Poncik – Vice-Chairman —  SPP — Slovakia

Keynote speeches

Klaus Schäfer – President — Eurogas

Peter Žiga – Minister of Economy of Slovakia

Miguel Arias Cañete – Commissioner for Climate Action & Energy — European Commission


Panel 1

The role of gas in energy market design

This session will address the specific role and requirements of gas in the medium and long term in a market enabling the transition to a cost-efficient low-carbon energy system, in which decentralised energy production from variable renewable sources will play an important role. Consideration will be given to supportive links between the electricity and gas grids as well as the perspective of the energy customer.

Panel introduced and moderated by
Margot Loudon – Deputy Secretary General – Eurogas


  • Sebastian Gröblinghoff — Board Member and Deputy Chairman of the Board — Latvijas Gaze
  • Nektaria Karakatsani — Regulatory Authority for Energy (RAE) – Greece
  • Mirek Topolánek – Director for International Development and Public Affairs – Eustream (Slovakian gas TSO)
  • Michael Woltran – Senior Vice President – OMV Gas Logistics
  • Franc Žlahtič – World Energy Council (WEC) Slovenia / Plinovodi d.o.o. (Slovenian gas TSO)
  • Péter Kaderják – Director – Regional Center for Energy Policy Research (REKK) – Hungary
11.30 Break


Keynote speeches

Ivan Weiss – Director of Planning and Business Policy —  SPP — Slovakia

Miroslav Mikolášik – Member of the European Parliament – European People’s Party – Slovakia


Panel 2

Practical examples of how gas is contributing to energy efficiency and decarbonisation

This session will address how gas technologies do or will contribute to the energy transition, on its own or in partnership with electricity, and what is needed for optimal development.

Panel introduced and moderated by
Beate Raabe – Secretary General – Eurogas


  • Magdalena Andreea Strachinescu Olteanu – Head of Unit, New energy technologies, innovation and clean coal – DG ENER – European Commission
  • Attila Nyikos – Vice President for International Affairs – Hungarian Energy and Public Utility Regulatory Authority
  • Petra Vargová Čakovská – S.O.S. Poprad – Slovakia
  • Julian Popov – Chair – Buildings Performance Institute Europe (BPIE)
  • Zdeněk Kaplan – CEO – Innogy Energy – Czechia
  • Zuzana Princova – Managing Consultant, Gas Specialist – IPA Advisory
13.55 Closing remarks

Beate Raabe – Secretary General – Eurogas

14.00  Lunch


The conference is preceded by a dinner at the conference hotel, on 22 March 2017, starting at 19.00.